Thursday, August 22, 2013

Mizzou on Coaches' Preseason All-SEC Teams

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Five members of the Mizzou Football team were selected to the 2013 Southeastern Conference Coaches’ Preseason All-SEC Football Teams, as announced by the league office on Thursday. The group was led by Second Team honorees E.J. Gaines (Independence, Mo.), at defensive back, and Marcus Murphy (DeSoto, Texas), at return specialist.

Named to the Bednarik Award Watch List ahead of his senior season, Gaines returns as a top cornerback in the SEC. His 11 pass breakups in 2012 led the Tigers, while his career-high 74 tackles ranked fourth on the squad. Gaines earned First Team All-Big 12 recognition two seasons ago.

Murphy enters his junior campaign with the Tigers after bursting onto the national scene with his return skills in 2012. He earned Second Team All-America honors from Sports Illustrated after scoring four touchdowns on returns last season with three punt return scores and one on kickoff. Murphy finished with First Team All-SEC recognition last season. He has been recognized to the Hornung Award’s preseason watch list. 

Third Team nods went to sophomore PK Andrew Baggett (Lee’s Summit, Mo.), senior OL Justin Britt (Lebanon, Mo.) and sophomore WR Dorial Green-Beckham (Springfield, Mo.). Baggett is back on placekicking duties for the Tigers after an SEC All-Freshman performance in 2012, connecting on 14-of-20 field goals and 33-of-37 extra points. A senior, Britt is head coach Gary Pinkel’s most experienced member of the offensive line with 22 career starts to his credit. Considered by many as the nation’s overall No. 1 prospect in the 2012 class, Green-Beckham led Mizzou with five touchdown receptions last season.

Mizzou kicks off the 2013 season at home at Faurot Field/Memorial Stadium with Murray State on Saturday, Aug. 31 at 6 p.m. Ticket information is available at


Second Team Defense

DB – E.J. Gaines (Sr.)

Second Team Specialists

RS – Marcus Murphy (Jr.)

Third Team Offense

WR – Dorial Green-Beckham (So.)

OL – Justin Britt (Sr.) 

Third Team Specialists

PK – Andrew Baggett (So.)

Full listing: