Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Franklin Selected to O'Brien Watch List

Mizzou senior quarterback one of 34 candidates named to watch list for nation’s best quarterback

FORT WORTH, Texas – Mizzou Football senior quarterback James Franklin (Corinth, Texas) was selected to the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, it was announced by the award’s foundation on Wednesday.

Named to the list by the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, Franklin was one of 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks selected based on performance during the previous year and expectations for the 2013 college football season.

Franklin put on an attention-grabbing performance as a sophomore in 2011, recording a stout 3,846 yards of total offense and 36 total touchdowns. He enters his final season at Mizzou looking to bounce back from an injury-plagued junior campaign in 2012. The Tiger has passed for 4,533 yards in his career with 32 touchdown tosses, while scoring 17 times on the ground.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

Sixteen semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 4, with the award’s foundation and selection committee naming three finalists on Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on  Dec. 12 on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

For more information and the full watch list, visit

Mizzou fans are reminded that 2013 Mizzou Football season tickets are still available to the public at, by phone at (1-800-CAT-PAWS or 884-PAWS in mid-Missouri) or in person at the Mizzou Arena ticket office.